It’s That Time of Year Again! [R.I.P VIII]

Mystery. Suspense. Thriller. Dark Fantasy. Gothic. Horror. Supernatural. Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above. That is what embodies the stories, written and visual, that we celebrate with the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril event.

Every year, Carl V. over at Stainless Steel Droppings hosts the Once Upon a Time Challenge from March to June and the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Event from the 1st of September to the 31st of October- and I’m a huge fan of both.

Some of you might know that I went on an (almost) year-long blogging break around August 2012. And while I took part in R.I.P VII in spirit – obsessively devouring books left, right, and center – I wasn’t on the blogverse to share in the real fun. I fully intend to make up for it with a vengeance this year!

For those of you that don’t know what R.I.P is, go here. I’ll let the man himself explain it to you.

Also, there’s going to be a read-a-long of Elizabeth Kostova’s The Historian. If you’d like to take part in the event, head over to The Estella Society to sign up!

I’ve compiled a list of the books I intend to read and movies / TV shows I intend to watch. I’m going to keep a permanent record here. Review links/ratings will appear below the titles as I finish them.

The Shining

American Gods

Children of Men

Marvel 1602

The Warded Man

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Forbrydelsen [The Killing]

The Usual Suspects

The Machinist

 

As always, I love recommendations, so feel free to throw them at me!

25 thoughts on “It’s That Time of Year Again! [R.I.P VIII]

    • You’ll be taking part, too? :D
      The Historian has been on my list for AGES, but I’m not sure if I’ll be able to actively take part yet. The minute I know I can commit, I’m going to put my name down.
      Have you read Kostova’s The Swan Thieves? I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it.

      I started American Gods during a set of exams and was forced to put it down mid-way. I’m looking forward to picking up where I left off. :)

  1. A great selection of books there! I hope you enjoy them!! I have started American Gods so many times and never finished it. I just can’t seem to connect with it.

    • Thanks, Kailana! I’m heading over to check out your list now. :)
      Yeah, I’ve heard quite a few people say that, unfortunately. But it’s Gaiman, and I’m a huge fan, so here’s hoping it works out!

  2. I’m hoping to read some King for this challenge too but Joyland instead. I haven’t read The Shining yet but I plan to at some point. Good luck with this challenge…I hope you enjoy all of these!

    • I don’t get spooked very easily, but King manages to give me shivers, every single time. I haven’t read Joyland yet, I look forward to your review. :)

      Good luck with your reading list, as well!

  3. Interesting selection Tanya. I am particularly looking forward to seeing what you think of The Usual Suspects (classic film!) and The Killing as I’ve only seen the US version. Happy reading and viewing!

    • I’ve been avoiding The Machinist for far too long, and I thought this was the perfect occasion to pluck up the courage to watch it. Thanks for stopping by, Riv! Good luck to you, too. :)

    • Thanks, Carl. :) I’m a little sad that I missed this year’s Once Upon A Time, last time was so much fun. But I’m glad I’ll be able to take part in this – it’s barely begun and already I’ve added so many books to my to-read list!

  4. That is such a great list! I have always wanted to read The Shining, but honestly, I’ve been afraid to! I mean, the movie scared me! I don’t know what the book will do!! haha! Happy Reading!

    • The thought of watching the movie scares me. King + Kubrick + Jack Nicholson is a combination that is probably a liiittle too much for me to handle. The book by itself will probably cause a few sleepless nights. :P

  5. All of your choices are superb! I want to read The Children of Men so badly. I need to decide what movies I plan on watching over the next two months that fit the RIP themes. We shall see! Happy Reading!

  6. Pingback: Seasons Greetings (R.I.P VIII) | The Wicked Queen's Mirror

  7. The Warded Man is an excellent series, the first is really good, very original and like nothing I’d read before. Peter Brett is pretty damned good. American Gods I still have to read – I don’t know why but I’m kind of scared. I love Gaiman but part of me is listening to the negative reviews (need a pair of good earplugs and some thicker skin and just push on). PD James is a good author – not read that book so I’ll wait for your review of that. I’ve ordered a copy of The Shining from the library (can’t buy them all after all!) Definitely intending to read this for RIP, if you want to hold off I’d love to read it with you but don’t delay for me in case my book is delayed.
    Happy reading.
    Lynn :D

    • Really? :) Coming from you, it makes me that much more excited to read it.
      I was halfway through American Gods when I had to stop, and it’s not like Gaiman’s other stuff, true – but I still liked what I’d read so far. I think that man has so many different sides to him and every time I read something he’s written, I’m taken by surprise. I like that. I like that you can’t pin him down with a label, and that he’s constantly trying new things.

      I’d love to read The Shining with you! Let me know a day or two before you want to start so that I can finish the books I’m currently on, and we’re good to go. I’ll wait, it’s okay. This will be fun. :)

  8. i want to join this event this year! It looks like so much fun and I love watching everyone do it. I love your list! American Gods is on my TBR and I should read it in October too…. The other book I want to read for RIP is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

    • You should! And it’s a great way to find new books to read. :) Ah, American Gods. We could buddy-read that, if you’d like? If we happen to be in the mood to read that at the same time?
      And YES. Miss Peregrine’s is a lovely choice. It completely took me by surprise, and if I might make a suggestion? This is one of those books you’ll probably appreciate more if you had a physical copy. The way it’s been put together is just gorgeous. :)

The Yeti loves conversation. :)

