To: The Knife of Never Letting Go


To:
The Knife of Never Letting Go
Patrick Ness

Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.
But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?

Dear Knife,

I’m writing you a letter because I feel the need to address certain issues that you’ve no doubt noticed we have. Now, there’s no need to overreact, okay? I just want to talk.

I’d been looking forward to our first encounter for ages. After all, every single person that had met you seemed to have fallen in love with you. And while I must admit I’m quite infatuated with you myself, you also make me want to tear my hair out and direct every swear word in my vocabulary at you.

There. I said it.

Look, you know I’m a huge fan of how creative you are. You know that. I have immense respect for the world you built – come on, Noise? Constantly broadcasting everything you think about to everybody else? Who thinks of something like that?! Also, the way you handled how different towns reacted to women being Quiet and men being Noisy? That was well thought out, well executed, and very very smart.

So that’s not the issue at all, here. YOU are brilliant. My problem is with that Todd kid of yours.

Okay, I’ll be honest. I admit to a little bias here.  I’m a HUGE dog-person, so every time Todd did anything that made poor little Manchee go, “Ow, Todd?” I wanted to just take a gun and shoot the damn kid. I know it’s not an ideal world. I know there are people out there that treat their own pets terribly. I know you talking about it is just your way of being “realistic”, but that doesn’t make it okay. There’s a reason I avoid books with animals in them like the plague and THIS IS WHY. I have a dog – an adorable little fluffball whose purpose in life is to get us to chase him around the house while he chomps on his squeaky toy and to make us feel like the world wouldn’t exist without us. I kid you not. ALL dogs just want to give their People love. They’re astoundingly selfless, and as long as you’re happy and safe? They’re happy. So when people treat their pets – dogs, especially – like little mister Todd here? IT MAKES ME MAD.

There are going to be a few spoilers now. I suggest you keep this letter away from those that don’t know you too well, yet.

People are awful, Knife. There’s no use trying to avoid talking about it. People do terrible, terrible things. And I know you understand that – it’s pretty evident from that 500-paged long conversation we had. Yet, I can’t help but feel you place a certain emphasis on “innocence being lost” when Todd has to kill another person, rather than the act of killing itself. Which is something I CANNOT agree with.

You know the Spackle? And Lemon Meringue? (Avoiding spoilers is a deeply ingrained habit, it would seem) Not okay, Knife. I could argue that leaving someone to die – someone that was put in that position in the first place because he was trying to save your worthless hide – that’s a whole lot worse than killing someone. I’d say that if you ever made the decision to do that, I don’t care what your excuse is, your “innocence” has already flown out the window.  Also, killing a non-human when it’s clearly terrified of you and has done nothing to provoke you? That, too.

ALSO. Leaving villages and towns to die because of you? Not cool.

Why was there so little thinking? You must warn them, the writing on the map said. What are the immediate questions you think of? Warn whom? Of what? Why? Where could the answers be? Possibly the book that came with the map or the map itself? Oh, I can’t read? Then why don’t I swallow my effing pride and ask somebody who can before something bad happens?!

I don’t get it, Knife. I just don’t get why so many bad things had to happen, one after the other.

And for what? I haven’t met your siblings yet, so maybe there’s more to Todd than meets the eye. But all this fuss just because he’s the only one in Prentisstown that hasn’t killed anybody yet? I find that a little hard to swallow.

Look, with Harry (have you met Harry?) – there’s a reason he needs to be kept alive. And a solid, unquestionable reason for Voldemort wanting him dead. With Todd, I can’t say I understand why the whole village is so eager to get their hands on him. I understand what he represents just fine. The extent they go to to capture him is just a little unrealistic, I think.

And, yes. I am aware that I survive on a healthy diet of fantasy – but when you create a setting, things are supposed to make sense within the frame you created. I had so many questions – and none of them deep or philosophical. They were mostly just along the lines of, “Why is this happening? What’s the point of all this?”

I know that it might seem like I…um…hate you. I don’t. Really. There were so many instances that made me want to give you the biggest bear hug in the history of Ever. It’s just that all these things were bothering me and I needed to clear the air. You understand, don’t you?

I’m still going to emphatically recommend you to every reader I know. And have heated debates about you. Don’t you worry.

Yours,

Tanya.

48 thoughts on “To: The Knife of Never Letting Go

  1. After reading this letter I am absolutely intrigued by what this book is about! It does sound like a frustrating read though. I must admit I don’t like books that leave me feeling so conflicted all the time.

    Unfortunately I’m going to have to ignore my curiosity though as, having got a copy of Fly by Night, I haven’t managed to read it yet! I have a reading list that’s two pages of A5 and that doesn’t even cover everything on my Kindle. Perhaps I should have done the read-a-thon after all?

    • This book cut me up inside. Ever since I read it, I’ve been oscillating between wanting to gush about it and wanting to cry in frustration. :|

      You got Fly By Night! I really hope you like it. And I remember a post you wrote a while ago, about how you love words? Just by themselves? Hardinge will appeal to that side of you. :)

      Ha, I know. I do, too. Every time I look at my to-read shelf on Goodreads, I cringe. They’ll probably have another read-a-thon next month or something. I’ll be sure to let you know once they’ve decided on a date! Or, you could just join in the conversation on the Goodreads group, if you want? It’s very relaxed and they try to find something that works for everyone. :)

  2. I enjoyed this review. I’m not sure I actually want to pick up the book because I would definitely be a bear with a sore head with all these niggles, but, this was very original and interesting.
    Lynn :D

  3. You’ve heard the story of Grigori Rasputin’s death and how he just wouldn’t die despite all these varies attempts? Aaron reminds me of him. No matter how badly injured he was–and you think this guy would have died from too much blood loss or SOMETHING, right? But no!–he keeps popping up to terrorize us. What the heck?!

    Yeah, Knife is one of those book where boom! boom! boom! something happens right after the other. Constantly. And you don’t fully understand WHY, either. At the same time, I was so horribly engrossed in this book but frustrated by it and then more frustrated by the fact that, despite everything, I really, really like it.

    And that scene with Todd and the Spackle? I hadn’t felt more upset with Todd than in that moment. And the whole thing with Manchee? I had to sit the book down. I still haven’t forgiven Ness for that and probably never will.

    • Right?! At one point I even thought – PLOT TWIST – Aaron is some weird cyborg guy! But no. Just fanatically persistent, it would seem. :|

      Exactly. I feel the same way. Which is why I just couldn’t rate it on Goodreads – I just don’t know how to react to this book.

      Every tiny thing with Manchee just set me off. I wanted to just jump in, rescue him, wrap him up in a giant hug and keep him away from Todd. And the Spackle scene just gets me screaming in frustration.

      I’ve got to admit, though. Despite all the problems I have with the book, Ness sure knows how to work an audience. And right now, I’m still unsure whether that’s a good thing. I’m trying very hard to stay away from the other books and not let my curiosity get to me. :|

  4. Pingback: The Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness | The Novelettes

  5. Pingback: The Novelettes

  6. Greetings I am so delighted I found your blog, I really
    found you by accident, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now and
    would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and
    a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic
    work.

  7. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work
    on. You have done a outstanding job!

  8. Heavy equipment, electronic and so on a leaned building.
    If they worked here. By just putting solar panels. at that place
    is another leisurely way to go totally off-grid? Lest you not but eliminates the
    need to find the amount they would hand over a better
    alternate. In the short term we’re looking at a wavelength of this threat to solar panels ontario their home.

    simulations on this solar panels ontario basis.

  9. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you ever been blogging for?
    you made blogging glance easy. The overall glance of your
    site is great, let alone the content!

  10. You actually make it appear so easy with your presentation
    but I to find this topic to be actually something that I feel I might by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and very wide for me. I’m taking a look ahead in your next post, I’ll attempt to get the grasp of it!

  11. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use
    WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills
    so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  12. Have you ever thought about publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my
    visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested,
    feel free to shoot me an email.

  13. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest
    you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you could write
    next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

  14. I think this is among the most significant
    information for me. And i am glad reading your article.
    But should remark on some general things, The website style is perfect,
    the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  15. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your
    favorite reason seemed to be on the internet the simplest thing
    to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they just don’t know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect
    , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

  16. Only 100% aloe will give you the full benefit of its immense healing powers.
    There is another sticky substance just below the skin of the leaf.
    In addition to the present, burn plant may have interactions with different herbs and dietary supplements.

  17. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!

    Thanks

  18. Only 100% aloe gives you the full benefit for its immense healing powers.
    In general though, if the plant looks like it is crowded in the pot, try transplanting it in a larger
    one. Do you always have a first-aid kit on hand, but apparently
    always be from antibiotic cream to make use of to your injured loved one wound.

  19. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who
    has been doing a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me breakfast
    due to the fact that I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this….
    Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to discuss this subject
    here on your web site.

  20. I’m really loving the theme/design of your website.

    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog audience have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this issue?

  21. Hello very cool website!! Guy .. Beautiful ..
    Amazing .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?
    I am glad to search out a lot of helpful information here within the put
    up, we’d like work out extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

The Yeti loves conversation. :)

